Just bought my First EVER tank today!!

1. bowen747x Member Member

Hello Aqua Forum! Great looking community, I have been reading all the beginner guides and tips and finding all the information I have been looking for very neatly organized :) excellent source for a newbie like me! I hope I am posting in the right place, I just have a few beginner questions.

I have been thinking about getting a tank for quite a long while now, but actually buying the tank today was very spur of the moment. I caught a great deal on a 55 gallon and considering I was originally looking at a 30 gallon, I am feeling kind of overwhelmed with the size. As I said this is my first tank (except a tiny one I had many years ago as a kid) so I have Zero experience!! I do realize all the work that is involved and I am nervous even thinking about live plants. Obviously I want to keep things very simple but, I also feel like a tank this size should not be filled with just plastic, LoL.

I was wondering what people around here think of mixing just a few live plants in with fake plants, maybe on just one side of my tank?? Would that be tacky, or is it actually a bad idea? Is it alright to have a small area of substrate for live plants while the rest is gravel and fake plants?? I was thinking as a beginner, I could just have a few plants for "practice" to see how things go, and maybe I can add more later. Well I keep reading it is bad to move things around too much but I could keep it gradual. Also I realize the importance of a quarantine tank and will probably be setting one up in a few months, after I have a few happy fish.