20 Gallon Tank Jumping into Salty side

navyscuba

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
So I have been thinking about setting up a 20 gal with some Anemones and a clown. Any guides on how to do this? Want to start slow on this. Thanks.

bolivianbaby

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
5 years
Sweet!!!!!

I'm still very new at saltwater, so the only advice I have is to make sure you know which species of clownfish you want before you go into the LFS. There are apparently some species of clown that get very very large. I almost made a major "whoops" due to lack of knowledge.

navyscuba

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
I checking them out just a minute ago. Thanks.

Goldwing_Don

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
you'll need to be on top of the evaperated water everday with that size tank. i would start out at 1.020 or maybe 1.018 for the specific gravity as it will go up pretty fast in a small tank if R/O water is not added. but if you start to add corals to the tank you'll need to raise it up very slowly to 1.025. jmho
Don

obtw cover the intakes of any filter with a sponge at not to suck up the Anemones..not a pretty sight.

Last edited:

navyscuba

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
you'll need to be on top of the evaperated water everday with that size tank. i would start out at 1.020 or maybe 1.018 for the specific gravity as it will go up pretty fast in a small tank if R/O water is not added. but if you start to add corals to the tank you'll need to raise it up very slowly to 1.025. jmho
Don

obtw cover the intakes of any filter with a sponge at not to suck up the Anemones..not a pretty sight.
What size of tank do you recommend to start with? I have 2 20h and 2 20L I was looking around on CL for a 40 or 50 Corner Tank I have some space it might fit in.

Goldwing_Don

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years