Java Moss: Yay Or Nay?

Discussion in 'Aquarium Plants' started by Laxin10, Apr 19, 2018.

?

Should I add Java Moss to my 55 and 40 gallon?

Poll closed Apr 26, 2018.
  1. Yay

13 vote(s)
    92.9%
  2. Nay

1 vote(s)
    7.1%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. Laxin10

Laxin10 Valued Member Member

I've been rocking Java Fern for the past two years in a variety of tanks and personally I have found them to be a bit frustrating. They grow new leaves constantly that are healthy but at the same time the older leaves seem to grow brown and die for no reason, which is replaced by new leaves.

The overall aesthetic is starting to get on my nerves and I've been wanting to add something new as well. I know Java moss can grow insanely fast, which is partially why I want to try it. Others have said it overruns their tank, but I really like the look of it.

None of my fish really bother my plants except my Green Terror, but I think he does it just to be a jerk :/

Thoughts

2. lizcateyes

lizcateyes Valued Member Member

Voted for growing java moss, in part because I have it and think it does grow easily and pretty rapidly.

3. NavyChief20

NavyChief20 Well Known Member Member

Green Terrors seem to have an affinity for being jerks. Mine do the same thing then look at me as if in "you see that?"

Java Moss is great though. It does grow fast but it really gets you that amazonian/jungle feel which is great for green terrors or jack dempseys

4. phantom

phantom Valued Member Member

Java moss !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    you should get some

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2018
  5. -Mak-

-Mak- Well Known Member Member

I prefer other varieties such as christmas moss because java gets really stringy and messy for me, but the benefits of any moss are good :)

Last edited: Apr 19, 2018
  6. OP
    OP
    Laxin10

Laxin10 Valued Member Member

What's the best place to buy it online?

7. OscarHoya

OscarHoya Valued Member Member