Jack Dempsey in 12 gallon tank?

soap_chan7

Reaction score
Hi there,
My brother has a 55 gallon tank and his Jack Dempsey is very aggressive. Since it is picking on the others he has no choice but to get rid of it. Everywhere I have read it says that a single JD must be kept in a minimum of 45-55 gallon tank. I only have a 12 gallon. I understand they like quite a lot of space to move and are very territorial but they only grow between 6-10 in. and as far as I know they are not exceptions to the 1 inch / 1 gallon rule like goldfish are. So I was wondering if it could work out having only 1 female (I think it's female) JD in a 12 gallon Eclipse tank? I care a great deal for fish and would never want to hurt the Jack Dempsey, I want to be able to provide it with the best environment possible but I am also strapped financially as I am only a college student so I can't afford anything bigger. My brother is desperate for a home for the JD and I would love to give that to it so I would really appreciate everyone's opinion on this. Especially since I am afraid that a lot of these chain pet stores won't tell me the truth on this matter so they can just make a sale. Any advice would be great. Thank you very much!

chickadee

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
It is not the fish's size that would worry me about the tank although it will not like being so restricted. The aggressiveness of the fish will make it much more active and the more cramped an aggressive fish feels, the worse the aggression gets. He is likely to become so upset he (or she) would run into the things perhaps even the side of the tank and injure himself/herself. You would not be able to have any other fish even if you did try this and there is no gaurantee that this would work even with keeping this fish alone.