Ivory Snail Dying? Help

1. Goldfishfreak

Goldfishfreak Valued Member Member

I have a ivory snail and a betta in a 10g planted tank. This is my first snail so I am very new to this.

I use ro water so I add Seachem Equilibrium.

My parameters are:
    Ammonia 0ppm
    Nitrite 0ppm
    Nitrate 0ppm
    Ph 7.6
    9-10gh
    3-4kh

I have had this snail for just under 3 months and he has been doing well.. At least that's what I thought.

I think I must be doing something wrong because when I first got him he was smaller very active, always hungry, and when he slept he did so by hanging into something and tucking his head into his shell. Now I have noticed he is not very active and does not eat alot and when he sleeps he doesn't hold onto anything and sits curled up with his foot half sticking out. I did some research on it and found out that it's a very bad thing, so I want to know what I did wrong.

I feed him shrimp pellets, algae wafers, blanched cucumbers and lettuce, and he gets whatever uneaten food and stuff from my live plants.

I do not feed him cuttlefish bone because I don't want to mess up my parameters and I thought that since the water wasn't acidic and the gh was higher that he would be ok. It did seem like he was doing well as he grew alot before this.

I am doing daily water changes right now because my betta is recovering from fin rot but I thought if anything he would be more active.

He is eating right now for the first time in 3 days. He has been in his breeder box since yesterday. He gets his algae wafers and shrimp pellets in there because other wise the Bettas makes a mess of them.

I would really appreciate it if someone could tell me if I am doing anything wrong and what is wrong with him and how to fix it. If he is going to die that is fine I just want to know what to do better next time.