I've got fry!

0morrokh

Thought I'd share here...I made my family come see them but they're not quite as ecstatic as I am.

I've had Heterandria formosa ("least killifish"...but actually a livebearer) in a tank with black phantom tetras for a while now. Strange combination, but it works fine, both species ignore each other. However, the tetras must hunt down all the fry, cause I haven't seen any new ones in a long time. So finally I got around to setting up a little temporary tank and putting a pair in there (it was FUN catching one-inch fish out of a planted tank). This is my first time to actively raise fry, so I'm pretty excited, even though I've really done nothing. ;D

For my own future reference, the setup is a 7 gallon plastic container (I'm too cheap for actual tanks ;D) with five gallons of water in it. Heated to 75 F and took a mature sponge filter from the main tank. Plants are hornwort and java moss tied to rocks, and some duckweed. I put in a couple adult pond snails because I've found their behavior to be a good indicator of water quality.

I saw two little fry this evening. Very large for newborns, maybe almost a cm long. Clear with little stripes. It's so cute how they hunt little bugs around the sponge filter. <--kind of like that. I'll have some bbs ready for them tomorrow. The adults ignore the fry, I think they're probably too large for the adults to swallow.

Will post pics once picresize finishes resizing them.

Jayfeather9

Awww, congrats on the fry. I've bred platys accodently a few times before. I never moved them to a separate tank so my first time spawning platys I ended up with 20 adults and the parents, a few neons and some snails in a 20gallon! Prepare for the space needed by the young!!!

Butterfly

Congrats! I believe I heard their fry are kind of big when born so maybe their too big to be eaten

carol

0morrokh

Thanks guys!

Congrats! I believe I heard their fry are kind of big when born so maybe their too big to be eaten

carol