Issue with ammonia.

LadyGoji

My poor betta has recently been biting at his tail and I noticed some damage on a front fin. I've done so many water changes and started a salt water treatment. I'm still relatively new to the whole aquarium thing. But I did a lot of homework before getting him. I've had him almost a year with no issues until now. I tested my tap water to learn that it has ammonia in it now when the last time I tested it, it didn't have any ammonia in it. It's not a large amount, but it is concerning to me and I feel like it's the reason his fins are getting damaged. The ammonia is a constant .25 on his water and my tap water now. I'm at a loss at what I can do. I could do the jugs of spring water, but it seems risky and it would be pricey overtime and I'm not made of money. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

LMO

If you use prime as your water conditioner it will detoxify any ammonia in the tap water (up to 1ppm at standard dose) while your filter bacteria convert it.

JustAFishServant

Places closer to sea level (like Texas) often have ammonia to eliminate possible "bad things" in the water to make it safer. However, it's unsafe for humans, let alone fish. The best thing you could do is use Seachem Prime, a general water conditioner that detoxifies chlorine, chloramines, heavy metals, nitrites, nitrates, and ammonia. Use this accordingly, and your fishy should be doing just dandy! Now the fin rot is pretty easy to treat and diagnose. If your tap water has ammonia, it'll stress your boy out, which can cause fin rot. Remove the ammonia with Prime and those tattered fins should fix right up! Good luck! :D

LadyGoji

Thank you for the nice reply's! I do use prime every time I do a water change. Someone from another place I asked this question said that the API can test false positive and that's why it looks like it's constantly at .25? Is that true?

JustAFishServant