is this too overstocked????

1. pando Initiate Member

i have a 30 gallon setup its about 62x38.5x45cm 30 gallon tank with plenty of rocks and ornaments on the bottom with cichlids 2 x convicts 2 x re forest jewel 2 x auratus 2 x acei 2 x soulosi 3 x bala sharks 1 x blue guarami (adult full grown) 1 x angel........things seem ok all the species seem to be keeping to themselves they already have a heirachy thing going so tend to stay away from fish that are higher than them on the pecking order its like the bala sharks and clown loaches are exempt from attack and are allowed into they territory's but if the cichlids do they are immediantly chased away is this because they dont see the sharks and loaches as a threat ? (im only fairly new to owning an aquarium) as the fish are still only young im going to upgrade the tank when they're a little bigger

2. pando Initiate Member

the picture on my avatar should give u a clearer idea of what my tank looks like

3. Butterfly Moderator Moderator Member

That seems a little overstocked to me. How many clown loaches do you have? (you didn't list them)
    The requirements of your fish are also a little more varied than is possible to manage in one aquarium . The Melanchromis auratus, Pseudotropheus acei, Psedotropheus saulosi and Hemichromis bimaculatus(forest jewel) are all from africa and require temps of 78 -82F and a pH of 8.0.
    Cichlasoma nigrofasciatum (Convict) is from South America and requires temps of 70-90F and a pH of 6.0 -7.0
    All are very aggressive especially the convict at breeding time. The Convicts can breed at two inches.
    The angel is also a cichlid and can be very aggressive at breeding time.
    The Clown loaches are totally unaggressive and will get huge.
    all that to say it's time to get another tank and seperate some of these gals and guys ;)
    When they get bigger isn't soon enough. Just my thoughts.
    Carol

4. pando Initiate Member