Is this set up enough to breed red cherry shrimp?

Naveen

Hi frends I'm new in keeping shrimp... So i choose a new tank specialy for rcs breeding... Today i set all the things anabius,foxtail java fern and moss... A big sponge filter and a ligh??? Bare tank.... Can anybody guide me ... If anything wrong??? I'm using RO water??
0D79AE99-B776-491D-BE7C-9F4C0CD635FE.jpeg

Fishstery

I dont really think RO water will matter for breeding neocardinas. Cardina shrimp like crystal reds are where RO water would come into play. However, it won't adversely affect the cherries breeding. You seem to have a good setup for them, they pretty much breed like rabbits under most conditions given there's no predatory fish around. I would toss in a few pieces of cholla wood though to give fry somewhere to hide in and also to graze on once it starts to break down and develop a biofilm. Some botanicals also work well too but IMO get messy once they degrade. Large clumps of Java moss also work well for this purpose.

Naveen

I dont really think RO water will matter for breeding neocardinas. Cardina shrimp like crystal reds are where RO water would come into play. However, it won't adversely affect the cherries breeding. You seem to have a good setup for them, they pretty much breed like rabbits under most conditions given there's no predatory fish around. I would toss in a few pieces of cholla wood though to give fry somewhere to hide in and also to graze on once it starts to break down and develop a biofilm. Some botanicals also work well too but IMO get messy once they degrade. Large clumps of Java moss also work well for this purpose.

U mean i can use ro water for rcs??

grac3

you can, but it's not necessary. your tank looks good, they should breed happily

altermac

Neocaridina davidii like Red Cherry shrimp need slightly harder water for breeding. I'm breeding on Tap-water, no RO. TDS above 300 ppm and PH up to 8.5 is fine.

RO and low TDS is needed for Caridina, like Taiwan bee.