Is This Second Hand Tank Worth It?

Discussion in 'Freshwater Tank Equipment' started by frostmystique, Aug 25, 2019.

1. frostmystique

frostmystiqueValued MemberMember

Ratings:
    +11
    Experience:
    1 year
    hey guys :)

Just recently been looking into getting a Fluval flex (57L) and I found a second hand one with a bunch of stuff included. I would like to know everyone’s thoughts about buying tanks and equipment second hand like this, as I’ve never done it before. For example, what should I be doing if I choose to go and look at the tank? And should I be doing any specific treatment to it?

The price they want is $450AUD however he does say he is willing to negotiate.

This is what is included:

In built filtration system. Including pump.

50w Eheim heater.

Ehiem air pump 100 with accessories .

Juwel thermometer

Gravel cleaner.

Glass cleaner.

A fish net

Some fish food.

Included is 6kgs of fluval stratum substrate.

Thanks so much for your help in advance!

2. richie.p

richie.pFishlore VIPMember

Ratings:
    +2,443
    Experience:
    5 to 10 years
    On UK prices thats very expensive a new tank on it's own is $245 have you checked to new prices on that tank

3. Cognac82

Cognac82Valued MemberMember

Ratings:
    +202
    Experience:
    More than 10 years
    So I have a whole bunch of fish tanks. Only two were purchased in a store.