Is This Normal?

1. Emuhlee

Emuhlee Valued Member Member

I'm still very new to caring for bettas. This is rose. I've had her for about a month and she is so amazing and active. She's had this belly for awhile now though and I'm not sure if she is bloated, egg bound or of that's just normal. I've read to give peas to them as a laxative.. But I'm scared to. Mostly because I only have canned sweet peas. Can they be soaked and given to Her? I just want her to be as healthy as possible. Sorry, bad quality. She gets really excited and moves ALOT when she sees movement. 20180501_223644.jpg

2. sea-potato

sea-potato New Member Member

I've never had a female betta but she does look constipated to me. Have you seen her poop? Don't use canned peas, you can get a small bag of frozen peas to keep on hand. Boil some water, drop in a pea for 30 seconds, then drop it in cold water to cool it off. Peel off the shell and feed her a couple of tiny bite size pieces. See if her belly gets smaller over the next day, it always has for my male betta.

3. OP
    OP
    Emuhlee

When she was in a smaller tank I saw poop, but it's harder to see in a bigger one.

4. CanadianFishFan

CanadianFishFan Well Known Member Member

Id say she had eggs but hard to see...

5. sea-potato

sea-potato New Member Member

I know what you mean. Try the pea and if her belly doesn't shrink she may have eggs or something else. I'm also new to fishkeeping so I can't give you more advice than that. Good luck, she's cute!

6. OP
    OP
    Emuhlee

So that's possible without a male? Will she have them and be okay? Should I put her in with my male?

Thank You!

7. BobNJerry

BobNJerry Valued Member Member

do a quick goolge image search and it looks like she has eggs-

8. shutterbug13

shutterbug13 Well Known Member Member

Definitely do NOT put her in with your male. Betta breeding is not easy and there is a high possibility of either fish getting killed if not done properly and responsibly.