Is this normal activity for fish after partial water change?

Discussion in 'Cleaning and Maintenance' started by fatbottomfish, Jan 2, 2013.

1. fatbottomfishNew MemberMember

I have just done a 25% water change, and my fish are all swimming around and playing more then normal? Even the chinese algae eater is more active. They just appear to be super happy about the water change. I just want to be sure this is normal activity? I am a newbie and this is my second water change, and I didnt notice the fish this active the last time.

2. ryanr

ryanrModeratorModerator Member

Yep it's completely normal. Fish really appreciate clean fresh water. It's like taking a shower :)

For some species, a water change can sometimes trigger spawning activity too ;)

As long as you're seeing playing, and normal behaviour, not skittish and scared (darting all over the place), you've got absolutely no problem :D

3. OP
    OP
    f

fatbottomfishNew MemberMember

Thank you, my Tiger Barbs are having a blast, maybe they are spawning?

4. Jaysee

JayseeFishlore LegendMember

Changing the water is one of the ways people get their fish to breed. They will raise or lower the temp, or change some other parameter that helps to put them in the mood. In any event, water changes will always be appreciated by the fish.

5. JustKeepSwimming

JustKeepSwimmingWell Known MemberMember

My fish just love it! Especially the guppies and platys in my community tank. They get very playful, swim right into the water as it's being poured in, sometimes they'll even bump my hands while I'm siphoning. Very normal behavior. :)

6. JRC3

JRC3Well Known MemberMember

Yep.

Change 50% of your water every week and thay will love it.

7. OP
    OP
    f

Thank you all for your help. I really enjoy my tank, and watching them play for hours after the water change put a smile on my face. ;)

8. Mrs.Price

Mrs.PriceValued MemberMember