Is This Ich On My Betta?

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by Mop1972, Apr 22, 2018.

1. Mop1972New MemberMember

I am new to the aquarium world. I have a 10 gal cycled tank, heater, filter etc. with a betta, 1 mystery snail and 2 Amano shrimp in it. I’ve had Becky the Betta (daughter named him Becky lol) for about six weeks and noticed a spot on his head that seems to be growing. Is this ICH for all of the experts out there? If so how to treat? His behavior seems normal and he’s eating and still blowing bubbles. Water parameters are all good..had it tested and I check it myself frequently. Thanks to any advice!!

Attached Files:

2. GuppyDazzleWell Known MemberMember

I think I could see what you're talking about, but can't get a real good look at it. If I'm looking at the right thing, it doesn't look like ich. With ich it looks like someone sprinkled table salt all over your fish. There won't be just one spot, it will be all over.

Keep an eye on it and try to get an educated guess before you start dumping in chemicals. It could be any number of things. If it gets worse post another pic.

3. mattgirlFishlore VIPMember

Bettas are very curious little guys. They will stick their heads in all kinds of places just to check them out. Do you have anything in his home that he could have scraped his head on?

It is hard to tell from the photo but I do know it deosn't look like any of the photos I've seen of ich.

4. GuppyDazzleWell Known MemberMember