Is This Ich In The Bottom Of My Betta?

w_johnson07

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
IMG_5401.JPG

This is the best picture I have of it, I noticed when he was swimming and I thought it was ich but when I looked at it from below it look like it was a part of him. Any help would be greatly appreciated. He also has not been lethargic and he eats well and he hasn’t been rubbing on anything. I am a beginner with bettas so thanks for putting up with me

Here another picture but not good at all:
IMG_5405.JPG

Fashooga

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
If it was ich you would see sugary dots all over the fins and body. If its just one place it could be either a wound or bacteria/fungus.

BettaNation

Valued Member
Reaction score
View attachment 434287
This is the best picture I have of it, I noticed when he was swimming and I thought it was ich but when I looked at it from below it look like it was a part of him. Any help would be greatly appreciated. He also has not been lethargic and he eats well and he hasn’t been rubbing on anything. I am a beginner with bettas so thanks for putting up with me

Here another picture but not good at all:
View attachment 434289
If its just one singular dot, I wouldn't worry. If you see more appear then yes. That dot might just be a false egg spot. And btw heat is not just a treatment, it's a requirement for them to be at their best and their immune systems. They are tropical fish, not coldwater, but can survive in Coldwater for a while, albiet not as happy or active as a betta in warm. And don't do any treatment ever unless you know for sure it's ich or whatever , as some treatments (i.e. melafix) can damage the betta's internal organs (labrynth mainly) and that can lead to premature death. If he's not acting weird and he's eating happily and swimming activley, I'm sure he's fine.

w_johnson07

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started