Is this BBA?

Discussion in 'Aquarium Plants' started by DanB80TTS, Aug 6, 2015.

1. DanB80TTS

DanB80TTS Well Known Member Member

This stuff is taking over my tank now that I look closley, I am upgrading my lighting in a few days.
    How do you know what is out of balance? I use flourish and excel as directed and am upgrading from a Fugeray to a planted plus, I am hoping that new lighting won't make it worse but will allow my plants to use up the nutrients better.
    I will be adding some cherry shrimp soon also, do they eat this stuff? I know some forms of algae are a delicacy for certain aquatic life, I have seen my dwarf gourami nipping at the stuff.

image.jpg image.jpg

2. Gvilleguy

Gvilleguy Valued Member Member

I am no algae expert, but that looks too long and wispy to me. I am, unfortunately, battling BBA as I try to get my fert balance correct, and my BBA is shorter and stays in a tighter clump. I'm having some success controlling it with Excel, but I need to keep working at it.

3. BDpups

BDpups Well Known Member Member

It's hair algae. BBA looks like black fuzz. How long are the lights you have now on for?

Sent from my iPhone with my fingers.

4. OP
    OP
    DanB80TTS

Too long, it varies though, turn on anywhere from 10am-2pm - turn to moonlights anywhere from 7-9pm and then shut moonlights off anywhere from 12-3am.

I thought it was hair algae, but it's black in colour and when I was researching it was coming up to black beard algae, some of the pictures looked like what I have but some also looked like a short fuzzy fungus looking algae which is how I thought BBA looked.

If it's a black hair algae then if I'm correct, nothing will be rushing to eat it, I did think it odd that my gourami was picking at it though.

I am getting a Finnex planted plus 24/7 and I plan to use the 24/7 feature on it.