Dismiss Notice
Hi there! You are currently viewing the forum as a guest. To log in, go here.

To become a member please register here.

Is There A Best Time To Go To The Lfs?

Discussion in 'Aquarium Stocking Questions' started by steAMYz, Apr 2, 2019.

1. steAMYzNew MemberMember

Hi! Newbie here. I was wondering if there's a best time to go get new fish. As in, if the LFS gets new fish in on Tuesday, should I go Tuesday? Is it better to wait a couple days? More than a couple days?

I was thinking going on Tuesday would be stressful on the fish, and they might need a few days to acclimate before moving tanks again.

Also wondering the same thing about plants?

Thanks!

2. PlatyloverFishlore VIPMember

It’s good to wait a few days so the weaker ones get weeded out a bit, but if your going to a quality LFS that shouldn’t be much of a problem. Also, if your waiting on a special species or one that sells out fast, you may want to go shipment day so you can ensure you get it. Just make sure everything looks healthy.

3. aussieJJDudeWell Known MemberMember

I wouldn't go during the busy times - Sat and/or Sun afternoon... A lot less likely to help you out, and answer any concerns you may have.

4. PlatyloverFishlore VIPMember

Well... I at least don’t really ask LFS employees for help aside from getting the fish or an occasional special order, don’t trust their advice or anything of the sort. even when they’re busy they typically do ok bagging the fish and ringing you up. For me at least that’s never been an issues, but I do typically go when they aren’t busy, even on weekends (early or late in the day).

5. 86 ssinitWell Known MemberMember

Best to have a quarantine tank set up. This way you buy when you see them. Put in qt and let them be for a few weeks. Make sure there healthy.
    If new tank with no fish yet you could put them into new tank. But all future fish should be qt’d.

6. aussieJJDudeWell Known MemberMember

Oh. I dont ask the basics either.