Is My Tiger Barb Going To Die Or Have Babies?

Discussion in 'Freshwater Fish Disease' started by BeanFish, Apr 12, 2017.

1. BeanFish

BeanFish Well Known Member Member

I have 8 Tiger Barbs in a cycled 36 gal tank. This is my first time with them so I am not an expert on barbs. There are other 4 mollys in that tank too. I dont know my water parameters (no test kit, expensive, hard to find, has to be ordered, it is a hassle etc...) but they must be good since I did a 20% water change on Saturday and a 20% water change yesterday. No fish have died in there and they are all active as always too so again, I want to believe they are fine.
    Anyways, I noted that my 3 female barbs have been getting fatter, a lot fatter than they were before. What does this mean? I dont think they are bloated because I feed them a mixture of: fish, peas, garlic, spinach and carrots so they should be getting enough fiber. I also want to think it is not dropsy because I see no pineconing. Finally, if they were internal parasites I would expect most of my fish to have them as the barbs have been together for almost 2 months.
    Are they eggbound? Or is this just natural? Or Am I just being stupid and it is from overfeeding (lol)?

Last edited: Apr 12, 2017
  2. w

wem21 Well Known Member Member

look eggbound to me! Keep posting updates of the barbs condition, and are there both sexes of barbs in the tank?

3. OP
    OP
    BeanFish

I hope they are eggbound too! Do you also keep tiger barbs? I don't want to get too happy yet because it would be pretty traumatic to make a party and then see them dead lol.
    I think I have 5 males and 3 females, all of them are fat but these 2 are a little bit fatter than the 3rd female.

4. OP
    OP
    BeanFish

Update: I came to see the fish and my 3 females are back to normal, maybe I overfed or maybe they threw the eggs and ate em all, I will never know.
    Probably overfeeding because I did gave them a bigger chunk of food.