Dismiss Notice
Hi there! You are currently viewing the forum as a guest. To log in, go here.

To become a member please register here.

Is My Tank Overstocked?

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by fishman44, Apr 17, 2019.

1. fishman44New MemberMember

Hello! I've done all of my research on making sure the water conditions will be perfect for the fish. I have a 10 gallon tank with several real plants. I also have driftwood and a couple of small rocks. I have 5 neon tetras, 2 albino corys, 1 panda cory, 2 guppy males, 2 platy males, 1 swordtail male, 1 dwarf gourami male, 1 ghost shrimp, 1 otocinclus , and 1 peaceful betta male. Keep in mind that I'm a beginner but I do know about the nitrogen cycle in case you were wondering. All advice is appreciated, thank you. The ammonia is 0. The tank has a aqueaon filter for ten gallon. I also have a heater and I do 25% water changes every two weeks. please tell me if I have a problem or not. My fish are all swimming well and no disease. I will not add anymore fish. It is a ten gallon long. I also replace the filter cartridge monthly.

2. DonthemonValued MemberMember

You are going to need to do water changes once a week. Lot of fish for a 10 gallon.

3. imbaWell Known MemberMember

Yes it is overstocked. There will also temperature issues and aggression issues down the line, even tho it looks like everything is doing ok now.

Are you after advice on possibly rehoming some fish, to avoid future issues? If not, the only advice is to keep up with your water changes. I would say 50% every 3 or 4 days.

4. FalenaValued MemberMember