Is my tank cycled?

EmeraldGriffin

Hi everyone, I’m EmeraldGriffin and I am new to the fish world. I just recently purchased a 29 gallon tank. It is equipped with a Fluval AquaClear 20-50 gallon power filter, a very powerful 30 gallon air pump, river pebble substrate, live plants and a few aquarium safe resin decorations. In the tank I have 4 mystery snails, 4 trapdoor snails, 2 ramshorn snails and 1 bladder snail. I have added 30mL (15 when I put in the water and 15 again the next day of following the directions) of Seachems Stability bacterial starter and dechlorinater when I put the water in. I set it up and now 24 hours later I tested the water for pH, high range pH, ammonia, nitrites and nitrates with my API master kit. Then alkalinity and hardness with a dip test strip. My readings are as follows:
pH – 7.6
High pH – 8.2
Ammonia – 0
Nitrites – 0
Nitrates – 10
Alkalinity – 180
Hardness – 300

How can I have such a high nitrate level without any nitrites or ammonia? Has my tank already cycled?

Thank you for your time!

Nickguy5467

if you can turn 2ppm of ammonia into 0 ammonia 0 nitrites into nitrates within a 24 hour period. your tank is cycled. guessing with all those snails in there that you've done that assuming recently is still a while ago, and this tank has been running for a while. if it was empty of life i would say does ammonia and see if it goes away the next day. ive never done a fish in cycle. perhaps mattgirl or one of her super friends can better inform you?

Edit: like Donthemon said. nitrates can also show up from your supplied tap water as it could be giving it to you instead of your aquarium inhabitants

Upvote 0

Donthemon

10 isn’t high. Check your tap water readings.

Upvote 0

EmeraldGriffin

10 isn’t high. Check your tap water readings.
Ok, I just tested my tap water against my aquarium water and you were right. It’s in my tap water. Thank you!