Is My Tank Cycled/ Nearly Cycled?

Hanzo Watanabe

Reaction score
Newbie here. So I went to my LFS fes weeks ago without much knowledge and bought a 5 gallon tank with these fishes:

•6 Neon Tetras
• 6 Albino Cories
• 2 Platies

I know my tank is a bit overstock and I'm gonna buy a 20 gallon tank soon. But I just wanna know if my tank if nearly cycled? I learned cycling through online forums such as this. My filter is only a mini HOB with a replaceable cartridge. It has gone black in just 1 week! So I made a DIY and fitted a sponge and carbon at the bottom. Casualty so far is 1 Cory cat.

Any tips for me to add things for beneficial bacteria to thrive? And also, if I move to a 20 gallon, how can I transfer all my fishes to that tank if it's uncyclef. Thanks guys!
IMG_20180523_172053_HDR.jpg
IMG_20180523_173650.jpg
IMG_20180523_173643.jpg
IMG_20180523_173721.jpg

all-out-fallout

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
You’re in the very beginnng stages of cycling. You’re not seeing signs of nitrite, which means ammonia, the first step in the nitrogen cycle, isn't being processed just yet. At this point your tank is just as good as that 20G (get a long for best results)—it’s not cycled. In the case that you have bacteria starting to grow on your filter media, keep the media in tank water (not tap—that has chlorine that will kill your colony). In my experience, it didn’t matter how much water I changed on my tank so long as I kept the bacteria on my media alive by keeping it wet. What kind of media do you have by the way? Do you have a sponge? Those are great for bacteria to cling on to.

I’ve always used SeaChem Stability and Prime for cycling, and they work great for me.

Hanzo Watanabe

Reaction score
all-out-fallout said: