Is my Platy pregnant?

Discussion in 'Platy' started by alice, Apr 5, 2010.

1. aliceNew MemberMember

Hi,
    Only recently I've realised that of my 3 MM Platys, one is hiding right in the middle of a fake plant thingy. I thought it was hiding before I discovered it in there, as whenever I put food in the tank, it would emerge suddenly and then disappear. I soon found it in the plant, and thought it was ill. I told my mum, and she said it could either be ill or pregnant. I am really excited, because apart from a near-pregnancy with an angel fish and breeding sea monkeys, I'm a complete breeding beginner! Could you tell me if my Platy sounds pregnant, how to check the gender of my MM Platys and what to do if she is pregnant? Thanks!!
    Also, the other two of my fish are staying well away from the plant which the mystic fish is in. They are just hovering near the filter which is on the other side of my tank (I think my tank is a FRF-555). What's going on?!
    I really want to ensure that my little fish are okay, especially any babies that could be on the way!
    My Questions:
    What's going on with the mystic Platy?
    How to check the gender of my MM Platys?
    What could be going on with the other 2 MM Platys?
    How to look after the fry if they do come (preferably on a small or low costing price- I only have a students budget!!)
    Thank you so much, whoever helps me with this!! I will be truly grateful!!
    alice

2. e_watson09

e_watson09Well Known MemberMember

I'm not sure how big your tank is, it'd be helpful for you to fill in your tank info.

I'm not sure what's going on but it sounds like the fish is stressed usually they don't hide like that when they're preg unless they're about to give birth (like within the day). If the others are staying far away I'm guessing it's sick. But like I said before it'd be really helpful to know how big your tank is and the water conditions because it could be more than just a small illness.