Is my Platy preggers? What to do?!?!?

1. YoungClayB Member Member

Hi everyone. I bought 2 female Platys about a month ago. When I first got them, one seemed a little bigger than the other but I didn't really think anything of it. Now, a month later, the bigger one is getting really fat in the stomach area. Is my platy pregnant? Any way to tell how far along? If she is pregnant, should I put her in a 10 gallon tank by herself?

I am new to fish keeping but this is potentially very exciting for me and my 7 year old son. He is actually having trouble going to sleep right now because he is worried about the baby fish. :)

Here are some pics:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. apple429 Well Known Member Member

yup, pregnant, I would put her in a 10g tank, if you want fry... make sure you have hiding places for the fry!!! Congrats...
    here is the link to the livebearer breeding page:
    https://www.fishlore.com/BreedingGuppies.htm

3. Lexi03 Well Known Member Member

She does look pregnant to me, if she has been that way for a month, she should be due any time now. If you want to keep all the fry, you could move to the 10 until she delivers, but once she does, remove her or she will eat the babies. and you can probibly expect to see babies every four weeks or so for up to six months ( unless you have a male, then you can exepct fry about once a month indeffinatlly) . The stomach usually starts to look squared when they get close to delivering.

4. I keep fish Well Known Member Member

if you lose them you can have my guppy fry i dont need anymore lol. Yea shes pregnant move her to the 10 gallon and wait :D

5. YoungClayB Member Member

My 10 gallon is currently disassembled. Looks like water changes and prime are in store for me.

6. Donnerjay Well Known Member Member

Hello there.

It would help us help you if you could fill in your aquarium information. At the top of the page, click on My Settings. Then, click on Edit Aquarium Info.