Is My New Tank Overstocked?

1. hh01441

hh01441 Member Member

I just started a 10 gallon tank and this is my first time.. I cycled it properly. I now have 6 danios and 2 african dwarf frogs. I added 3 neon tetras yesterday and they all died overnight. I had my water tested yesterday as well and everything looked fine. My question is...was I overstocking my tank by putting the neon tetras in there? Is that why they died? or could there be another reason? I don't want to put anything else in my tank if I am overstocking it, so I really need to know the answer to this question. I don't want to kill anymore fish! It makes me too sad! Please help!!

2. Aquaphobia

Aquaphobia Fishlore Legend Member

3. Planted Aquatics

Planted Aquatics Member Member

What are the exact parameters of your water? No, you weren't overstocked. Neon tetras should be kept in a group in 6 or more. 5 is the bare minimum but they might get stressed. They probably died from either a disease or stressed out by only 3 neons. Did they look faded or spindly shaped? Did you quarantine the fish or get them all at once? I You shouldn't add neons until your tank has been 6 months to a year cycled. They are very finicky, so they need pristine water quality, and a planted aquarium. I recommend putting the danios in a 20 gallon long, and adding a school of Harlequin Rasboras to your 10 gallon. Start at 5, and build up from there. A school of 6-8 would be awesome. They are very hardy, and a good fish to start out with a new tank. They also are great for planted aquariums. Make sure you have an airstone to oxygenate the water!

4. maggie thecat

maggie thecat Well Known Member Member

You have stocking issues. The two frogs will do great in a ten gallon. Active swimmers like danios, not so much. They are better suited to a 20 gallon or larger. Neon tetras, often end up on 10 gallon lists due to their size, but they are also best suited to 20 gallon or larger tanks.

5. michaelh

michaelh Member Member