Is My Mollie Pregnant?

Discussion in 'Breeding Fish' started by Courtney Harrison, Dec 9, 2018.

1. Courtney Harrison

Courtney HarrisonValued MemberMember

Ratings:
    +21
    Hey all, I have noticed for a while now my Female Mollie stomach is getting bigger by the day. I have made a temporary breeding box (as I do not know when she will give birth any help on when could be amazing) with holes all over it while my actually breeding box is on its way (Christmas deliveries may take a week). My Mollie is breathing faster than the other two and has a darker colour behind her golden colour. I have 2 other Mollies but I'm not sure if they are female or male.
    If you could take a look of the photos and some help would be appreciated she looks pregnant but I am not too sure. If she Is pregnant now long should I keep her In the temp breeding box, as I do not want her in there if she isn't close. Im pretty new to having fish and having an unexpected pregnancy isn't ideal.

The first picture is good as it shows the size comparison between the two mollies.

I also have these photos of the black mollie chasing the golden mollie

These are the photo's

Attached Files:

Last edited by a moderator: Dec 12, 2018
  2. penguin02

penguin02Well Known MemberMember

Ratings:
    +984
    Experience:
    2 years
    Most female livebearers are pregnant when you buy them. If they're currently (or have ever) been kept with males, 99 times out of ten they'll be pregnant. Even if you let her give birth in the tank, there will probably be some baby survivors, so I wouldn't use a breeder box as it can stress out the mother.

EDIT: Also, welcome to Fishlore!

3. OP
    OP
    Courtney Harrison

Ratings:
    +21
    Well i have a lot of fish in my tank that can eat the babies... Siamese fighters tetras and more... I want to give the livebearers the best chance they can get. And also does she look pregnant to you? she is a bit fat and got some black under her golden colour