Is My Loach A Yo Yo Loach?

angiec

Reaction score
Experience
1 year
I'm toen between yo yo loaxh of gokden zebra loach.. I'm new to this so maybe I don't have the eye for it yet
VideoCapture_20190422-225905.jpg

Demeter

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Looks like a thin golden zebra. Make sure you fatten in up on a carnivore diet (shrimp pellets, blood worms and brine shrimp). Pretty sure these guys need company of their own kind as well.

nikm128

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 years
Can you get a clearer pic straight from the side? I also don't think it's a yoyo, but it could be a marble

Jellibeen

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Looks like a zebra loach to me. They are schooling fish and are quite active in my experience. I had mine in a 29 gallon and they were constantly glass surfing- swimming up the sides of the tank, a behavior fish may exhibit when they are in too small of a tank. I moved them into a 90 gallon and they seem much happier.

OP
angiec

angiec

Reaction score
Experience
1 year
Demeter said:
Looks like a thin golden zebra. Make sure you fatten in up on a carnivore diet (shrimp pellets, blood worms and brine shrimp). Pretty sure these guys need company of their own kind as well.

This is how I purchased him so I had no clue! I did ask someone in an aquarium store and he also said he looked thin but wouldn't ID him when asked. He's in a community tank and honestly is there a way to give him more food without the others getting to him? Also, I do have shrp in the tank and I was told he would eventually eat them is that true?
nikm128 said:
Can you get a clearer pic straight from the side? I also don't think it's a yoyo, but it could be a marble
Best I could do for now
VideoCapture_20190423-082430.jpg
VideoCapture_20190423-082524.jpg

Basil

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
2 years