Is my fish pregnant ????

Discussion in 'Livebearers' started by Nnh, Aug 4, 2014.

1. N

Nnh New Member Member

I got this fish from the pet shop about few days ago and the woman told me she was going to give babies soon I have been watching her n she seems to stay near the filter and more on the top I cannot see her black dot but just a dark area with is mot too dark she is abit big and she is doing soo much poop the poop is really long and I'm very confused help !!!

2. celizabethh3

celizabethh3 Valued Member Member

What kind of fish is she? If she is a livebearer (guppy, platy, etc.) she is most likely pregnant and will develop a gravid ("black" spot) and her belly will square off.

Sent from my iPad using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum

3. OP
    OP
    N

Nnh New Member Member

Yes I think she is a live bearer but I thought that she was a guppy it's soo confusing its my first time with fishes she has been shaking a few times and right now she is under the filter there is a dark arear were the black spot should be I just wanted to know when she will give her babies I don't thing that's possible

Is it true that the gravid spot (sorry) can be a diffrent colour ??

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 20, 2014
  4. celizabethh3

Is there any way you could post a picture of her so we can tell you what type of fish you have?

I know that when females are getting close to giving birth, some of them will start acting oddly. I have read that they will lay close to the bottom or hide from the rest of the fish. Do you know what your tank parameters are so we can rule out ammonia or nitrate poisoning? I bought female guppies about two/three weeks ago and they are noticeably pregnant. Is her belly shaped like this \___/ yet?

5. OP
    OP
    N

Nnh New Member Member

Ok I will upload a pic and my fish is not squared off bit she looks a little

Attached Files:

6. celizabethh3