Is My Cory Pregnant?

jwokmuba2

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
i have caught two of my corys "dancing" together and now the larger of all three looks a little bloated, maybe shes pregnant???

Lucy

Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
I'm no pro, but it's hard for me to tell. I'm not sure that pregnant is the right word either. Cories are egg layers.
Here's a link to a video showing how she'll carry and deposit her eggs:
Cories Spawning

jwokmuba2

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
okay i see the eggs, mine does not have eggs. so why would corys vibrate/rub against each other, then start to circle together in the same direction, only two of my corys do this.

Lucy

Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
The male will follow the fem around and they kind of dance, making a T shape with the male above the female.
Keep a look out, the eggs may not have dropped yet

jwokmuba2

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years

Lucy

Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
I had mine with guppies. The momma ate the eggs, not the guppies.
I didn't separate the parents as I'm not that interested in breeding.
Here's what I did:
https://www.fishlore.com/aquariumfishforum/threads/protecting-cory-eggs.62221/
Out of a couple of spawns, I only have 7 or 8 young ones, which is fine by me

There are other more experienced and successful cory breeders on the forum.
I hope they'll see this thread and respond.

jwokmuba2

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
thanks lucy, great ideas, more responses would great too but for now im not that into breeding, just thought i might try to sell them to the lfs. idk.

potatos

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
what type of corys are they?

jwokmuba2

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
im guessing they are three lined or julie corys, i not for sure though, heres another pic form about 6 months ago