Is my 40 gal tank over stocked!! Question

Discussion in 'Aquarium Stocking Questions' started by Quinkeohane, Apr 7, 2010.

1. QuinkeohaneNew MemberMember

Hello all, I'm quite new to this hobby and was hopin some1 could help me with the number of fish I got in my tank!! I have 1 pleco, 2 orandas, 2 telescope goldfish, 3 angelfish, 4 neon tetras, 4 platys... It's sounds a lot to me!! I started with only the pleco, angelfish an orandas, but my wife keeps bringin new friends home!! ( she did say wen I got the tank, quote"why do u want fish? They just swim around an around".. She now sits infront of it wen she reads her books, she
    just loves um.. Anyway can some1 help me plz...

2. cm11599ps

cm11599psWell Known MemberMember

Yes. Not only is it over stocked but you have fish that aren't compatible. Goldfish should not be kept in a tropical tank.

Goldfish require more tank space than other fish too.

The angelfish might consider the neons for food later on. The platys might nip at the slow moving orandas and even the long fins of the angels. The pleco will also outgrow your tank.

Last edited: Apr 7, 2010
  3. LyndaB

LyndaBFishlore LegendMember

This is also a relatively new tank (2 months). Was the tank fully cycled when you put all those fish in there?

Goldfish have a large bioload and require temps different than tropicals.

4. Prince Powder

Prince PowderWell Known MemberMember