55 Gallon Tank Is loss of life a given with every new tank?

xuekeeper

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hello all. I am new to Fish Lore and the hobby and so far have found great joy and knowledge. My concern is this: Does every new tank even though properly cycled and all instructions followed with correct readings for the type(s) of fish introduced, lose fish?

I lost a lovely Dalmatian Molly in just two days, his tank mate was a bit spastic on day one but has recovered nicely as is behaving just fine.

I am sad that he died and want to be reassured that I am not the only new mom to suffer through the loss of my fish babies. I know I have done everything correctly as I have constantly referred back to this site for explanation and instruction. All of which I have found extremely helpful. I just need to know that everyone loses a fish or two when they are first starting up or am I alone in my grief?

Thanks.

anaugle

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
Your not alone. Unfortunately fish die and it can be hard when your attached to them. I have lost several fish when I started too. There can be different things that affect the fish and cause them to die such as: ammonia levels to high, stress, parasites...etc. You have to rule out which one it may be. Good luck and welcolme to Fishlore.

GoGreen

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
In my experience...yes. No matter what you do or how perfect your water conditions seem, sometimes something is wrong with a fish that is not obvious until it is too late. Be it a weaker immune system than it's mates or sometimes in the genes.

Keep in mind, also, that a tank takes quite a while to fully mature (about 6 months I believe), even though the initial cycle is done. So some patience is needed.