is it possible for a pleco and a chinese algea eater to breed

Status
Not open for further replies.

toaker

Reaction score
Experience
3 years
Hi, I am new to fishlore and i have only been seriously into the hobby a few years. What got me seriously into the hobby was a pleco my kids had in their 10 gallon aquarium about 3 years ago. a year later they got a chinese algea eater. Since we put the algea eater and the pleco in the 10 gallon tank they were basically inseperable. They grew together over a year, when i got a 40 gallon tank for them they were about 8" long each. So I moved them into the 40 gallon tank but what ever fish or predator fish \i put in theat tank with them would be killed and eated in a few days. Well decided to give them away one day. While I was about to empty out the 40 gallon tank, I noticed a little fish suction cupped to the inner glass under water, so I saved it and put it in my kids new 28 gallon tank. I plan on posting pictures of this fish and my aquarium when I figure out how to do it. But my question is can or is it possible for a pleco and a chinese algea eater breed and have offspring with each other? Hope you can help me out, I am very interested in figuring it out. Thank you

Lucy

Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Welcome to FishLore!!
Hope you don't mind, I moved your question out of the other thread.
It'll get more attention on it's own.

I've never heard of the two breeding. However, I don't know that much about hybrids.
Hope someone else can help out.

Good luck

sirdarksol

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
3 years
Welcome to Fishlore!