Is Adding Salt To A Freshwater Tank A Good Idea?

adh/smile
Hi!
I am new to fish keeping but I have kept freshwater betta fish before in 2 gallon bowels. I now have a cycled 10 gallon tank with 2 guppies. I was doing some reading about tank water and came across the idea of adding on Tablespoon of table salt for each 5 gallons of your tank. Does anyone have any opinion on whether to do this or not? The article said to do it for killing fish diseases or any parasites. I've added literally a pinch of salt to my betta bowels before and the betta fish never reacted to the salt negatively. Would my guppies be ok with some salt?

Aquaphobia
Guppies would actually tolerate the salt better than your bettas but a tablespoon isn't that much salt. There already is salt in your water in fact unless you're using straight RO or DI water! Yes, salt does kill some pathogens but not all of them or not at the levels typically recommended for freshwater tanks. Plus any pathogens that do react to it can become habituated to it just like any other medication or change in environment. They adapt. And then if you really do get a problem then simply adding salt can't help.

In my opinion, it should be treated like a medication when it comes to freshwater fish and used only if necessary!

EricV
The guppies would most likely be fine with some salt but I still wouldn't recommend using it unless you're actively treating a specific disease.

It can be irritating to some kinds of fish and your salinity can easily creep higher and higher if you aren't accounting for evaporation during water changes.

It can be useful for short term applications but it's not something I would do over the long term.

Lchi87
Agreed with the above, I would only use salt if I was treating for disease. If you have a planted tank, some plants are sensitive to salt as well.

Aquaphobia
Good point about the plants, forgot about those!

adh/smile