Is a dwarf gourami a good beginner fish?

russ757
hI I'm new at keeping aquariums I have a ten gallon tank with plenty of nooks and crannies and I was wondering if 2cory cats 1dwarf gourami and a small school of fish would get along all help appreciated!

sirdarksol
One dwarf gourami and a couple of cories would pretty much fill a 10 gallon tank.
Both kinds of fish are pretty susceptible to poor water conditions, and dwarf gourami have recently been going through an issue with a virus known as iridovirus. I don't know the status of the iridovirus pandemic, however.
Other than these two issues, a dwarf gourami and two cories is a decent setup, and wouldn't be terribly hard to keep going, as long as you cycle the tank beforehand and keep up with weekly water changes.

russ757
thanks

thanks for yopur help it is greatly appreciated

fishbum
One dwarf gourami and a couple of cories would pretty much fill a 10 gallon tank.

One dwarf gourami,3 cories,and a small school of small tetras,like neons or glowlights would be fine and not overstocked.You might consider some panda cories,they are also dwarfs.

russ757
I'm con fused so which is the right answer?

Lucy

One dwarf gourami,3 cories,and a small school of small tetras,like neons or glowlights would be fine and not overstocked.You might consider some panda cories,they are also dwarfs.

I agree with with sir, a dwarf gourami can get to 3" and the cories 2.5 a peice. That's 8", there's not room for a school of anything.

russ757
any other ideas for a colorful fish full of personality?

but is a gourami a good beginner fish

my filter turns my water over 8 times an hour

actually I'm thinking of putting in a pair of chiclids and nothing else would that be ok

Alessa
put NO more than one inch of fish per gallon and there is NO ROOM WHATSOEVER for a school of fish.

also ciclids need a larger tank, even if they are small.