Irrelevant But Interesting Question About Ph,kh, And Plants.

Discussion in 'Aquarium Water' started by FishyGlenda, May 19, 2019.

1. FishyGlenda Valued Member Member

I’m a beginner in the aquarium world and just started doing some research on KH/GH/PH. After learning about it and looking at it in a chemical perspective, I thought about a somewhat irrelevant but interesting question: When the ammonia gets converted Into nitrates, the pH goes down due to the acidic nature of nitrates and we all know that we can lower a pH by adding something more acidic to it. Vice versa. But The KH in your aquarium prevents the pH from going down by neutralizing all the nitrates until it’s completely used up. And when it’s completely used up, that’s when your pH starts to go down. Since plants consume the nitrates produced, does that mean the plants in a planted aquarium can act as a buffer just as KH making the KH last longer as well? I believe the nitrates would have a smaller impact in the pH in a planted aquarium because the nitrates would be getting neutralized not only by KH but they would also be getting consumed by the plants preventing them from staying in the water and making it more acidic. In return, the KH would also last longer because now the plants are helping with the nitrates too by consuming them. Am I right? In other words, does having a planted aquarium make your KH more durable and your pH more stable than having a non-planted tank due to the plants consuming the nitrates? I just thought this was a cool and interesting question. I tried googling this question but didn’t find an answer.

Oh. And I know that carbon dioxide gets consumed by plants making the water less acidic and raising its pH. But this question is about the plants acting as a buffee just like Kh does meaning that it does not lower or rise the pH but keeps it stable since it would be preventing the nitrates from affecting the pH by consuming them.

Last edited: May 19, 2019