Iridescent Shark Tank Size?

lisamorie
I am relatively new to fishkeeping, and stupidly did not research this fish (iridecent shark) before I bought it but was told at the pet store it wouldn't be more than a couple of inches long in adulthood... of course now I realize that this shark is gonna get huge and of course they won't take it back, and my tank is waaay too small. I also bought silver dollars-- again was told they stay pretty small (same store, same person) and now I am realizing they will be at least 6 inches?

honestly, after only having fish for a couple of months, I already want another larger tank, so that part is not such a big deal to me, but my question is-- how big of a tank do I need? I am kind of afraid of the answer to this question...

also, I have read that the shark should be feeding at the middle of the tank but he never leaves his hiding place in the shipwreck thing I have in there so I am kinda worried he is not eating at all. any ideas? as of last night when I cleaned the tank he was alive. is he maybe having problems cause he needs a friend? do I need to get another one? if so, wow--

KittieKat
well... when given the space and right diet the iridescent shark can reach up to 4ft long and way up to 100lbs. so u pretty much have ur hands fun there. but in tanks they usually stay around 6-12". in reality catfish never stop growing.. cuz theyre catfish.

most catfish eat at night... they can be pretty shy. normally this shark would be considered a "schooling" fish but its not a need to have so many of them.

I'm guessing most people will tell u to get something like a 75gal for ur fish but I understand where ure coming from cuz when I first started out I was sold a columbian shark and was told it would stay small "it grows to the size of ur tank" blah blah blah.. liers! my shark will get somewhere around 14" or so... soooooo I bought a 125 gallon.