Introduction

KingJamal2

Hello everyone.

I have been fishkeeping for about 2 years now. I only do freshwater, due to the fact that I don’t feel comfortable spending money on saltwater.

I have 3 tanks currently set up. A 10 gallon, an 11 gallon, and a no filter 2 gallon. I will be getting a 40 gallon for Christmas.

In the 10 gallon tank, I have guppies, fake plants, (this was the aquarium I started with) and a HOB filter.

In the 11 gallon, I have RCS, MTS, and live plants (java moss, java fern, crypt WendtiI and more soon) with a sponge filter

I breed cherry shrimp and sell them to a LFS, so I know a thing or two about Neocaridina shrimp.

I also have a 2 gallon no filter tank with dwarf hair grass, RCS, nerite snails, dwarf hair grass, and various types of Rotala.

I look forward to being a participant of this forum, and will be excited to get my 40 gallon tank for Christmas!

SAM321

Welcome.
Pls tell more about breeding cherry shrimps.
Challanges faced by you etc.
I once got a setup with 6 shrimps. All died one by one with no known reasons

KingJamal2

SAM321 said:
Welcome.
Pls tell more about breeding cherry shrimps.
Challanges faced by you etc.
I once got a setup with 6 shrimps. All died one by one with no known reasons
Sure,
When I first get my shrimp I drip acclimate them for about an hour. (It may seem excessive, but I have never lost a shrimp using this method). I would definitely recommend drip acclimation.

The biggest challenge I have faced so far was getting my tap water parameters in check for cherry shrimp. My tap water has a very high TDS level, it’s around 800. Once I found that out, I switched to RO water and have been using it for a year now. I remineralize using bee shrimp GH+ and bring TDS to about 300.

One of the biggest necessities with shrimp breeding is a bio film over every thing in the tank. Shrimp are constantly grazing, and you need something for them to eat.