Introduce Male Guppies

1. E

Eevee_7 New Member Member

Note: Before I start this thread, I would like to say that I am a beginner and have never actually posted in a forum before.

Ok, I have just finished preparing enough tanks to house my new guppies from a friend who couldn't take care of them. 5 are female and 1 is a male. (The male is pretty small; the smallest out of them in fact.) I know that once I separate the males and females, I will need to get more males since guppies are a schooling type of fish. However, I need good advice on how to introduce male guppies to each other, especially because of his size. I need to know how to introduce him to multiple other male guppies without the poor little guy being ganged up on. I will need to do this soon, as I already know one of the females is pregnant and I do not intend on breeding.

Thank you!

2. Kellye8498

Kellye8498 Well Known Member Member

You won't need more males. You don't want to get a bunch of males or they will harass the females to death...literally. What you have will be just fine as you will have a TON more babies than you know what to do with in short order. I have a less than 1 inch long male trying (successfully it looks like) to fertilize my females already so I'm guessing you will have babies in about a month or less.

3. OP
    OP
    E

Oh, sorry, I don't know if I mentioned that I am separating the females from the males so there will be a female tank and a male tank. If the males would harass the females to death, would they also harass each other?

4. Kellye8498

Gotcha, that's good. No, the females won't harass each other. The males harass the females because they try to breed with them until the females panic and stress and eventually die. Since the females won't be trying to mate they will be happy to hang out with each other :)

5. OP
    OP
    E