Initial Stocking Of A Cichlid Tank...advice?

NittanyFin

Okay, I am looking for some advice from all you experts. I'm new to Cichlids, but not the hobby. I have a new 150 gallon tank that is cycling now but am not trying to plot out how to stock it initially. Looking to do the Haps and Peacocks thing (or perhaps I'll go in another direction with mbuna), BUT since it's the initial stocking, my thought process is to buy unsexed juveniles and see what happens. Since I'm looking at buying 50 fish or so, I'm looking to go this route to save some money. Over time, I'll be more selective.

Is this the right approach? Should I consider another route? What do you recommend for an initial stocking strategy? I'm just looking how to initially stock my 150 gallon as it's totally empty at this point.

Thanks.

Demeter

Fishlore VIP
Your idea isn't bad at all. If you want specific species you could also buy groups of 5-6 to try getting 1m/3f. Just keep in mind that if you decide to get a couple species of peacocks all the females look alike so cross breeding may become a problem (if you are looking to breed and sell anyways).

You could also go all male in which case just getting a large mix would be best.

OP
NittanyFin

NittanyFin

Demeter said:
Your idea isn't bad at all. If you want specific species you could also buy groups of 5-6 to try getting 1m/3f. Just keep in mind that if you decide to get a couple species of peacocks all the females look alike so cross breeding may become a problem (if you are looking to breed and sell anyways).

You could also go all male in which case just getting a large mix would be best.