Initial Stocking Of A Cichlid Tank...advice? Help

Discussion in 'African Cichlids' started by NittanyFin, Oct 30, 2018.

1. NittanyFin

NittanyFinValued MemberMember

Ratings:
    +13
    Experience:
    Just started
    Okay, I am looking for some advice from all you experts. I'm new to Cichlids, but not the hobby. I have a new 150g tank that is cycling now but am not trying to plot out how to stock it initially. Looking to do the Haps and Peacocks thing (or perhaps I'll go in another direction with mbuna), BUT since it's the initial stocking, my thought process is to buy unsexed juveniles and see what happens. Since I'm looking at buying 50 fish or so, I'm looking to go this route to save some money. Over time, I'll be more selective.

Is this the right approach? Should I consider another route? What do you recommend for an initial stocking strategy? I'm just looking how to initially stock my 150g as it's totally empty at this point.

Thanks.

2. Demeter

DemeterFishlore VIPMember

Ratings:
    +3,537
    Experience:
    5 to 10 years
    Your idea isnt bad at all. If you want specific species you could also buy groups of 5-6 to try getting 1m/3f. Just keep in mind that if you decide to get a couple species of peacocks all the females look alike so cross breeding may become a problem (if you are looking to breed and sell anyways).

You could also go all male in which case just getting a large mix would be best.

Last edited: Oct 30, 2018
  3. OP
    OP
    NittanyFin

Ratings:
    +13
    Experience:
    Just started
    Thank you. I'm not looking to sell and breed at this point, but would like to know what species I have and know what they are. Ideally, I'd like to keep all males but to initially stock a 150g with all adult males could be really costly. So, I was sort of thinking buying juveniles and then watch them grow up. But....what happens when that happens and the aggression kicks in with the females?

4. Demeter

DemeterFishlore VIPMember

Ratings: