Inheriting used fish equipment

primerowan
hI folks!

so i'm a soon-to-be amateur and i've been reading these forums religiously for the last couple of weeks - so thanks for all the info! but I have a couple of questions - so here's my story.

I managed to get my hands on a 55gal. tank and custom-made stand, along with a dual-filter system, heater, thermometer, air pump and bubble-maker, fish tank decorations, and 150lbs of crushed coral rock from a fish enthusiast who is moving out of the country for the great price of $150. I have long wanted to start my own aquarium and when this fell in my lap I figured now was the time to do it!

so i'm picking the tank up this weekend. I plan to do a fishless cycle with some plants (I would like to have a planted tank!) so I don't anticipate actually having any fish for a bit. so i'm going to set up the tank with some plants this weekend - but I am a little leery of having used equipment. I'll be replacing any filter media in the filter, so that's not a problem, but as for the crushed coral and giant fish castle/decorative rocks and the tank itself - is there anything I should do to them to insure that my eventual fishies do not get sick from anything lingering from their previous owners? I know you rinse out *new* gravel and whatnot - but since this gravel has been used before...should I do anything special to it? this probably sounds like a really goofy question but I really do not know much about transferring fish illnesses.

any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated! and I have to say that I love this forum - reading it over the last few weeks has really left me feeling prepared!

julia

BoSox Fan7
You can boil the decorations. And I think you can bleach the tank someone else can help you with that. What are you putting in this tank?

primerowan