Imagitarium Black Sand

1. handsome

handsome Valued Member Member

i added a bunch of bags to my new aquarium, a lot of the sand stayed at the top floating for the past 2 days, also my 2 fluval c4 filters keep sucking it up and getting clogged, any recommendations would be appreciated

2. Adrian Burke

Adrian Burke Valued Member Member

No suggestions to fix it, but next time put the sand in before the water.

3. Thunder_o_b

Thunder_o_b Fishlore VIP Member

Take a damp paper towel and wipe it across the water and glass. It will pick up the floating grains of sand.

4. OP
    OP
    handsome

im new to sand, havent had an aquarium since the early 90s and back then i used gravel only, should i be turning off the filters every time i disturb the sand?

5. Thunder_o_b

I do not, but I do not use the sand you are using. I use BDBS and pool filter sand. If the sand you are using is very find and prone to dusting up then yes I would shut down the filtration. Sand can do mean things to the impellers in filters.

6. finnipper59

finnipper59 Well Known Member Member