I'm Stupid PLEASE HELP ME SAVE MY FISH AND EGGS

fishynewbie

Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I appreciate you reading my long post and any help, ANY HELP AT ALL!
I am a freshwater newbie. I've been reading the articles on this forum for a while and was relunctant to post but now I feel like I have a real emergency.
I have a 20 US gal tank that is in the process of cycling (I didn't know about cycling until I had the aquarium and fish ) Currently I have 1 dwarf gourami, 1 tinfoil barb (I know it'll outgrow my tank) and 2 jellybean parrots (I didn't know the abuse they go through when I got them, and yes I know they will outgrow my tank) Now my reading are: Amonia: 0 Nitrite: between 2 and 5 I can't really tell what color the liquid is, Nitrate: 5. I've been doing water changes everyday with treated tap water to keep the levels of Nitrite down because I know how toxic it is. My problem today is that I discovered jellybean fry by mere coincidence in one of my caves and now I don't know what to do. QUESTIONS: 1. Do jellybean eat their fry? 2. Should I move the mother/father and fry to another container to protect from tinfoil and dwarf gourami? 3. Should I change the water or will it disturb the new family? 6. Should I add plants into the cave from other parts of the tank to protect the fry? I'M COMPLETLY LOST AND SHAKEN UP AND DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO. I became very Motherly towards my fish and try my best to keep the alive and prevent them from being poisned by toxins. I fed them tropical flakes and bloodwarms (twice a week). I never had fish and now I'm really nervous. PLEASE ANY HELP WOULD BE APPRECIATED.

hopesmom

Valued Member
Reaction score