I'm new at this hobby, need help!

waltmillham

Reaction score
My only experience with keeping aquarium fish was as a child. My brother & I had goldfish in a 10 gallon aquarium. We lived on a farm & in the summer-time we would put the glodfish at in the cattle watering tank. They got rather large. I didn't take care of the aquarium. My mother did most of that.

Anyway, I've recently decided to start keeping aquarium fish & wanted to try tropical fish. I bought a Betta & put it in a 5 gallon Mini Bows tank. I have changed the filter one time & did a 30% water change just a few days ago. He never seemed sick or stressed at any point & he's doing fine now.......blows lots of bubbles for some reason.
Then, just last this week, I started up a 20 gallon tank & a 10 gallon tank that I previously was using to house a Rose Haired trantula.
Here's my problem though........like I said, I'm new at this. I went to the pet store & bought two cichlids........I have no idea what kind. They are light grey....almost white with faint darkened vertical stripes. They are very aggressive eaters. I have them in the 10 gallon tank. They are about 2 &1/2 inches. I also bought two baby Red Bellie pirahnas & put them in the 20 gallon tank. One died & the other one is still going...........I did this before I read (on this site) about water chemistry & the nitrogen cycle....& now, I'm like ....oops! Should have read about this hobby first. I did go out & buy test stips for amonia, nitites, nitrates, ph , & other. I only did the amonia test on both the 10 & 20 gallon tanks yesterday & they showed only low & safe levels of amonia.