Im New at This! and i need Helpp! Help

Discussion in 'Aquarium Stocking Questions' started by ginababyy, Apr 13, 2010.

1. ginababyyNew MemberMember

I just got my fish tank. its a 5 gallon and i had 7 fish. 1 of them just died. is the water okay or do i have to clean the water or anything?
    Helpp me before my fish diee!

2. bassbonedivaFishlore VIPMember

Seven fish in a 5gal? What kind of fish? It sounds like you're way overstocked.

Do you have a test kit to test ammonia, nitrites and nitrates?
    Do you know about the nitrogen cycle?
    How long has the tank been set up and how long have the fish been in there?

I know that seems like a lot of questions, but the answers to these questions will help us determine what the problem is. Without any further information than what you've said, I'd say it sounds like your tank isn't cycled and your fish have ammonia poisoning, along with your tank being overstocked.

3. ginababyyNew MemberMember

i got like 3 little goldfish and 2 koi fish and one medium size one i dont know the name of. nad a alge eater.
    i dont have one of those test kits and i have no clue what nitrogen cycle means?
    this is the third day with this tank.

4. potatosValued MemberMember

return them. none of them can live in a 5gal, you are wayyyy overstocked and they will all die shortly unless re-homed immediately. your fish are being poisened by their waste and ammonia

goldfish are very messy, koi get giant, plecos get huge and are super messy. the tank must be cycled before fish can be added

nitrogen cycle:
    waist+food > ammonia > nitrite > nitrate

benefical bacteria turn ammonia (which is very harmful to fish) into nitrite (which is also harmful) other bacteria turn this into nitrate (which is harmful in large amounts) nitrate is removed by water changes. bacteria must colonize your tank and be able to process ammonia and nitrite before you can add fish.