I'm New At Aquarium Keeping And I Don't Understand The Difference Between Liter And Gallons

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by agarzon, Apr 21, 2017.

1. agarzonNew MemberMember

I have bought a 25 litre tank, it has a filter and two live plants, i'm saving up for a heater. Everywhere I look it says gallons and I converted later to gallons and it says mine is only 6 gallons, although it is huge for my Betta male. I was considering a blue Ghourami tank mate, but on the website it says there must be at least 20 gallons of space. Can I get more fish? my aquarium I believe is 25cmx25cmx40x?

2. EternalDancerWell Known MemberMember

Litres are British.
    We also have gallons that are a different size to American gallons.

Six gallons is a beautiful tank for a betta (many recommend 10 US gallons).

My two bettas are in two 19 litre (5us) tanks.

Definitely don't put any other fish in there. It may look a big tank but it's small for anything else, and bettas are naturally solitary creatures.

You could add a few shrimp (be aware they may get picked on/killed/eaten by the betta), or a snail (mystery or nerite don't breed so won't overrun the tank).

3. pixelhootValued MemberMember

Hello! Some compatibility suggestions: Each betta is different. Some are peaceful where others aren't. Still, it's a good idea not to mix bright-coloured fish or any that are aggressive with a betta. (edited) This aside, a 6 gallon really doesn't give you a lot of flexibility with a betta. You need about 10+ gal for a community betta tank to work and not be overstocked. If this doesn't seem appealing to you, your betta is just fine flying solo and being the prince of the tank! An idea to fill any "empty space" would be to try out a planted tank and learning how to work with CO2 injectors and the like. You could also get silk plants or bigger decor. :>

Last edited: Apr 21, 2017
  4. EternalDancerWell Known MemberMember

^ in a six gallon though?