Im Having trouble keeping bristlenose plecos

Eschnee

Hello im new to the hobby and have been having a good time with my tank. i have a 20 long that has 4 rummy nose and 4 leopard danios with 1 oto, with live plants.
over the last 2 weeks, I have gotten 2 albino bristlenose plecos the first was a small one maybe only an inch and a half. within the first few days, its stomach became huge almost as half as him, and died shortly after. I did a water change and tested my water and everything seems fine.

I really like plecos so I got another one this one was maybe 2 and a half inches and for the first couple days, he moved around and was having a good time and then sat on the ground for over a day. I found him this morning also dead with his stomach looking like it had poped or caved in and there were lots of brown particles underneath.
I have no idea what is happing the other fish are fine. I fed them both algae wafers and zucchini witch they seemed to like.

I love plecos and would really like to have one but I feel bad to buy one and have it die in my tank. Any help would be much appreciated.

Tup

Could be dropsy, overfeeding, not properly cycling the tank or strange bacteria in the tank though I have probably missed something... or could be the danios attacking, though prob not. I wish I could help you more...

CHJ

I have never been able to overfeed a pleco. This includes plecos sleeping on the zucchini they are eating so they are either eating or sleeping and nothing else. Still can't overfeed them.

I'd think they are too small not to mention the report of them eating for it to be acute starvation. Sometimes fish get distended bellies from starvation after months without food. I don't think it can happen with a fish that small?

DoubleDutch

These fish are omnivores and need a bit of protein in their diet as well (definitely when young)
Try to feed shrimppellets now and then.

Kaveman