I’m a noob & didn’t know about cycling. Please help me save my daughter’s Betta fish.

velospeed

EDIT: we mixed up nitrite and nitrate readings on OP. Both nitrate (10) and nitrite (0) are at safe levels.
Hello everyone,

First and foremost, thanks for all the helpful and informative posts here. It has been a helpful resource, but I’ve made a bunch a f mistakes and need an intervention. I purchased an 8 gallon Betta tank for my 4 y/o daughter back on 10/3. Two weeks later, we noticed the fish wasn’t swimming much and it died the next day.

Foolishly, I replaced the fish the same day with an identical one, and added a Pleco and Cory to distract her from the slight difference in the Beta’s appearance. She noticed anyway—so I told her the fish was growing. Our cat just died a few months ago and my daughter still talks about it daily, so I was trying to protect her from more sadness.

Now the second Betta is sick, and probably the Cory and Pleco too. I’ve tried to adjust the tank toxicity by reading this forum over the last two weeks. Per a “Nitrite too high” thread here, I ordered Seachem Prime and Tetra SafeStart+. It just arrived yesterday but while searching for guidance here, I read about ammonia and the cycling stages. Now I am unsure of what to do next, and hoping for your guidance. I’ve copy/pasted the emergency template below and am heading to PetSmart for an ammonia test kit this evening.

Tank:Top Fin® Dazzle Aquarium Starter Kit - 8 Gallon, 7 Color Changing LEDs | fish Starter Kits | PetSmart
What is the water volume of the tank? 8gal
How long has the tank been running? 8 weeks
Does it have a filter? Small integrated
Does it have a heater? No
What is the water temperature? Room temp 71-73 F
What is the entire stocking of this tank? (Please list all fish and inverts.)
1 Beta
1 Plecostomus
1 Cory Catfish

Maintenance
How often do you change the water? Once during 5-6 weeks, then daily for a week (last week) and again yesterday.