I’m a Newbie, Making A LOT of mistakes );

Norbyland

I had a goldfish in a bowl as a kid, Mr T. He’d pass every two years or so and we’d get another Mr T. When my kid wanted an aquarium, I was like, no problem, easy peasy.

I bought a tank with filter, plant, and gravel at Petco. Then some fish (after a week!). Immediately, two of them died (Glo Tetras). The Glo Shark and 4 other tetras survived. But after reading online, I realized the Glo shark needed a much bigger tank than the 5 gallon we had but we had no space for a big tank in his room so I got a 13 gallon. The shark’s pretty small, will have to reevaluate when he gets bigger. The tetras were the biggest at the store. My son insisted on the biggest, he’s 8, but I was pretty sure we were buying some pretty elderly fish. One of them seems so old, my son named him Skeletore.

We decided to get a beta for the old 5 gallon and put it in my daughters room. We cycled it for a week (I know, stupid) and then put the entire bottle of Tetra Safe Start Plus in before adding our girl, Rosie. She is so smart! I send videos and photos to my family and friends and they all think I’m a weirdo. Whatever, lol. Rosie is the bomb.