Ill Oranda, Very Limited Resources Important

Discussion in 'Freshwater Fish Disease' started by OrandaFetish, Aug 15, 2019.

1. OrandaFetish

OrandaFetishNew MemberMember

7A38C2F6-1958-4369-B15E-2DDE07D4CB65.jpeg7ECA3F87-D9FD-482C-A45A-F5DEB4CC7B94.jpeg12B0AB71-9FE5-471E-BDD7-9A59665C8C03.jpeg100E440A-E8D2-4EC3-B015-652F18488EAA.jpeg

Hello,
    I’m a new hobbyist from Cairo, Egypt and this is my first post. I’ve had this particular oranda for a little over a month now. Initially her and the other goldfish stayed with various angelfish, loaches and a pleco; which I soon figured was a bad idea when I noticed she’d been attacked viciously by my loaches and my pleco. I quickly removed and returned all my tropical fish to the store and now house 4 orandas in my 55-gallon tank. She’s endured fungal infection from the wounds inflicted by the loaches that eventually totally cleared up and became a slight swim bladder issue coupled with developing fin rot. The swim bladder issue developed into her resting upside down but otherwise swimming fine and freely albeit clumsily around the aquarium. I currently am doing daily water changes of about 40 percent and treating her with methylene blue by dipping twice daily. I’ve been feeding her a pea-only diet for a week now. I tried aquarium salt various times but didn’t really seem to do much. I want to know what I could possibly do to cure her of her fin rot. Keep in mind that I live in Egypt, where the majority veterinary “professionals” are uncertified hobbyists who have no experience dealing with fish. I also have limited access to meds/treatments. All I have access to are methylene blue and aquarium salt from the store. I want to know if I could purchase any antibiotics intended for human use and use those instead but I am not sure how I would administer and the correct dosages etc... Any advice?

Attached Files:

2. fa4960

fa4960Well Known MemberMember