Idk What This Algae Is, Need It Off Plants.

Discussion in 'Algae' started by Greengirl87, Jun 24, 2019.

1. Greengirl87

Greengirl87Valued MemberMember

I have been battling this algae for 2 years. I had it before live plants. I thought adding live plants might help. It has not. In fairness, I don't think it has gotten worse either. Api algaefix doesn't really help. Blackout didn't really help, helped a little, but not much. It comes off easy, in huge patches. Just comes back fast. Sometimes, as you can kind of see in the pics, it just comes off by itself. It grows everywhere in the tank. Literally there is not a single area or surface this stuff will not grow on-decor, plants, walls, filter...everything. My cory cats and neon dg will eat it. I know my tank gets too much light. And I'm trying to figure that out. But it is a little difficult with the schedule I have.

Now, I'm not trying to eradicate it from the tank. I will soon be tearing down this tank(37 gallon) because I hate it, I no longer have space for it, and I've got a 55 cycling. I am describing this to figure out what it is, so that I can get it off the plants because they will need moved to other tanks. And I don't want this stuff making its way into my other tanks.

Any help on an ID or at least a way to safely get it off plants is appreciated. Plants are crypts and java fern. 20190624_091242_HDR.jpg20190624_091158_HDR.jpg20190624_091342_HDR.jpg20190624_091421_HDR.jpg

2. Wraithen

WraithenFishlore VIPMember

Looks like a severe case of diatoms. Try a packet of phosphiltrum or something similar and see if that helps. It will take a few days to start noticing results. It wont kill the diatoms, but will remove their food source.

3. 86 ssinit

86 ssinitWell Known MemberMember