Ideas To Cut Down Maintenance?

CraiginWales

HI all. Due to disability I’m starting to struggle maintaining my 5ft, 130g Severum & Acara tank.
I’ve sold a few Severums to reduce the biomass & will probably sell a few more. 6 Severums, 5 Acaras.
I can do weekly water changes no problem but when it comes to cleaning I’m struggling.
I can’t stand for too long to keep the glass free of algae. Weekly vacuuming is getting difficult. I don’t trust my balance on step ladders.
I’m thinking of getting an electric vacuum & would appreciate any recommendations on that.
Are there any ideas to keep maintenance to a minimum please? I’m determined not to give up my tank. Thanks

Carmen79

HI Craig in Wales,

I'm not experienced in Severums nor Acaras but, is your tank planted? Specially floating plants, they can absorb nitrates. I'd think this would be helping with your vacuum..?

Donthemon

Well Known
UV filter would help for the algae. Not sure what other type of filter you have but canisters don’t need to be cleaned very often. Also sand substrate seems easier to keep clean than gravel. Good luck and hope you will be able to continue. Fish keeping is relaxing and therapeutic.....

OP
CraiginWales

CraiginWales

Thanks Carmen but plants are out of the equation. Lol. They’d be eaten or uprooted in no time

Fishstery

Well Known
I don't have much experience with tanks that large or electric vacuums, but here are some quick ideas that may help even just a little bit.