Ideas For New Tank

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by Bettaeverything, Apr 19, 2018.

1. B

Bettaeverything New Member Member

Hi everyone,
    I'm pretty new to this, wanting to ask what the amount of fishes u can have in a 10 g tank excluding a betta. -cheers

2. GrayGray4231

GrayGray4231 Well Known Member Member

It all depends on the type of fish you want, what kind is it you want??

3. david1978

david1978 Fishlore VIP Member

4. Mary765

Mary765 Well Known Member Member

In a good 10g walstad you can have the same amount of fish as in a normal 10g tank. It's safer to bump down your bioload a little bit if you can though so it isn't too hard on your plants :D

Check the list and get back to us with any fish you like the look of

5. OP
    OP
    B

I would love to get a betta but I saw earlier comment saying that 10g tank is enough for just one betta. In addition, I would like to have ember tetras and ghost shrimp if possible.

6. Mary765

Yeah male betta need a tank of their own. Maybe a female would work with ember tetra and shrimp buy you will have to ask someone else

7. j

jaymethy Valued Member Member

It might work, it might not. There are other options you can do with ember tetras though, that are a little bigger and little more colourful. For example, I have 3 male guppies in with my shoal of 7 ember tetras, and they just add a lot more colour and activity to the tank.

8. OscarHoya

OscarHoya Valued Member Member

If you are new to the hobby, I would consider changing the tank to a 20 or 30 gallon. They don't take up that much more space than a 10 gallon. The reason I say this is that a 10 gallon has been hard for me to control the cycle. I'm sure some more experienced people would say it's not a problem, but more water would be easier to handle in my mind.